Need a Callback


    UPSC Prelims Examination


    UPSC Prelims consists of two compulsory multiple-choice-question based papers of 200 marks each. Here’s a brief about the UPSC Prelims paper pattern.


    Number of Papers 2 compulsory papers (GS Paper-I and GS Paper-II)
    Type of Paper GS Paper-I (Merit)

    GS Paper-II (Qualifying)

    Type of Questions Objective (MCQ) type
    Total Maximum Marks 400 (200 each paper)
    Duration of Exam 2 hrs. each (20 minutes per hour extra time for blind candidates & candidates with Locomotor Disability & Cerebral Palsy [minimum 40% impairment])
    Negative Marking 1/3rd of the marks assigned to a question
    Medium of Exam Bilingual (Hindi & English)


    IAS Prelims Syllabus


    The UPSC Prelims syllabus can be divided into two  parts:

    1. General Studies Paper I
    2. CSAT or General Studies Paper-II

    UPSC Syllabus For Prelims

    The UPSC Civil Services Prelims has two papers namely General Studies-I and General Studies-II (CSAT). Check out the IAS syllabus for both the UPSC papers below:


    UPSC Syllabus for Prelims: General Studies Paper-I


    The IAS Syllabus for UPSC Prelims Exam includes the following topics:

    1. Current Events of National and International Importance.
    2. History of India and Indian National Movement.
    3. Indian and World Geography – Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
    4. Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
    5. Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.
    6. General Issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change – that do not require subject specialization General Science


    UPSC Syllabus For Prelims: CSAT or General Studies Paper-II


    The GS-II in UPSC Prelims is also known as CSAT or Civil Services Aptitude Test. The following topics are included in the IAS syllabus for this paper:

    1. Comprehension
    2. Interpersonal skills including communication skills
    3. Logical reasoning and analytical ability
    4. Decision-making and problem solving
    5. General mental ability
    6. Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc., – Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency, etc., – Class X level)


    Speak To Our UPSC Expert & Book Your Demo Lecture Today.

      Request to Call Back :