Need a Callback

    10 Things to Know about UPSC Civil Services

    Everything About UPSC Exam

    One of the most frequently asked questions among government job aspirants is “What is UPSC Exam? ”Well, UPSC Exam or more commonly known as IAS Exam is formally the UPSC Civil Services Examination. The UPSC Civil Services Examination (CSE) is one of the examinations conducted by the Union Public Service Commission to recruit suitable candidates into civil services of India including IAS, IPS, IFS, and other allied services. This examination is conducted in three phases namely UPSC Prelims, UPSC Main, and the personality Test or UPSC Interview.

    The first phase of the IAS Exam is UPSC Preliminary Examination which is the screening test and thus is qualifying in nature. The score obtained in the UPSC Prelims exam is not calculated in the final merit. However, the score in GS Paper-I is essential to determine the cut-off of the UPSC Prelims Exam. The IAS Prelims Exam paper consists of two papers that are objective-type MCQ-based as opposed to UPSC Civil Services Mains Exam. The UPSC Mains Exam is a descriptive exam consisting of nine papers.

    In this article, we will discuss what is the UPSC exam, eligibility, IAS exam syllabus, UPSC Exam pattern, and other important details related to IAS Exam.


    How many exams are there in UPSC exam?

    There are 3 stages in the UPSC Civil Services Exam – (1) Preliminary Exam (Objective Test) (2) Main Exam (Written Test) (3) Personality Test (Interview). Prelims – The Civil Services Preliminary exam comprises two compulsory papers of 200 marks each (General Studies Paper-I and General Studies Paper-II).

    10 Things to Know about UPSC Civil Services

    The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is the government agency responsible for recruiting officers into the civil services of the country. It conducts the exam and selects candidates based on pre-selected criteria. The civil services include services like the IAS, IFS, IPS, IRS, etc. that form a part of India’s civil services – the backbone of the country’s administration.

    In this article, we have presented ten facts to know about the Civil Service Examination. These facts will cover almost everything about the UPSC exam in brief.

    All you need to know about the UPSC

    Below we present to you a few brief facts about the UPSC Civil Services-

    Fact 1: The civil services include three types of services namely, the All India Services, Group A and Group B Central Services. The services that come under each of these types are mentioned below:

    All India Services:

    1. Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
    2. Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
    3. Indian Police Service (IPS)

    Group ‘A’ services:

    1. Indian Revenue Service
    2. Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service
    3. Indian Customs and Central Excise Service
    4. Indian Audit & Accounts Service
    5. Indian Ordnance Factories Service
    6. Indian Defence Accounts Service
    7. Indian Postal Service
    8. Indian Defence Estates Service
    9. Indian Civil Accounts Service
    10. Indian Railway Account Service
    11. Indian Railway Traffic Service
    12. Indian Railway Personnel Service
    13. Railway Protection Force
    14. Central Industrial Security Force

    Group ‘B’ services:

    1. Delhi and Andaman & Nicobar Islands Civil Service
    2. Delhi and Andaman & Nicobar Islands Police Service
    3. Central Secretarial Service
    4. Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service
    5. Railway Board Secretariat Service
    6. Custom Appraisers Service
    7. Pondicherry Civil Service

    Fact 2: The prescribed UPSC Exam Eligibility criteria are that the candidate should be a graduate and must have attained 21 years of age. There is also an upper age limit and a number of attempts restriction based on the candidate’s category. Generally, the upper age limit is 32 years, but the commission gives age relaxation for OBC, SC, ST and PH candidates. For the detailed relaxation criteria, you may go through the links given below this article.

    Fact 3: The UPSC exam is held in three stages. The three stages are Prelims, Mains and Interview/personality test. The prelims exam consists of two papers of objective type questions. The mains exam consists of nine descriptive type papers. The last stage consists of an interview round with the UPSC board. Candidates should clear each round in order to qualify for the subsequent round.

    Fact 4: As we saw above, there are various services candidates can get into after clearing this exam. But the service allotted to the candidate depends on his/her preference indicated while applying for mains, vacancy in that service for the particular category and the candidate’s rank. Commonly aspired services like the IAS, IFS and the IPS need a high rank.

    Fact 5: The UPSC  also conducts various other exams apart from the civil services. A few examples are Engineering Services Exam, Combined Medical Services Exam, Indian Forest Service Exam, Combined Defence Services Exam, Indian Statistical Service, etc.

    Fact 6: Candidates should know that the civil services and the Indian Forest Services have a common prelims exam. While applying for prelims, candidates should indicate whether they are taking both the exams or only either one of them.

    Fact 7: The UPSC Syllabus is huge and eclectic. There are several subjects to study under this syllabus. In addition, candidates should pay extra heed to the topics that come under ‘current affairs’. All important national and international news and events that affect polity and society are relevant for this exam, and candidates should study them in detail.

    Fact 8: An irrefutable fact as far as the UPSC exam is concerned is that newspapers must be read and analysed as part of the preparation. It is not enough if candidates study only the syllabus and static topics. They must read the newspaper every day. You may check the links given below this article for tips on how to read the newspaper for the UPSC exam.

    Fact 9: In order to clear the UPSC exam, it is important that candidates get enough test practice. This is true for both prelims and mains exams. Practising IAS mock test papers will give candidates the chance to assess their own weak points in the preparation. Additionally, it will help them improve their speed of answering.

    Fact 10: The IAS exam is tough. This is a fact. But it is also a fact that this exam is not insurmountable. With a systematic approach, hard work and dedication, you can come out with flying colours and land your dream job!


    Speak To Our UPSC Expert & Book Your Demo Lecture Today.


      Request to Call Back :